Jungle is massive… Wicked

Before Christmas I had no idea what my sisters present was for me, when we finally did our present handover I had to wait 2 weeks to open it. I was a bit unsure as to what it was because it was tiny and felt like a notebook. Matt gave me a clue (without me asking might I say) and he said Jungle is massive, I was completely thrown back by this and could only think of Ali G in Da House. I came up with many pointless answers and then it finally came to Christmas day, Matthew being mean kept giving me all my presents but made me wait for my sisters until the last one just to make me suffer more. When I finally ripped it open it was in fact an address book but it looked like it had been open before and fell open to the 19th February which underneath the date there was a little note ” I have tickets to Wicked the best seats in the house”.

I finally understood the clue and was overcome with a feeling of Joy and excitement, I was so happy as I was desperate to see the musical but never got round to doing it. So finally last night I saw the show and I have to say I am so glad I waited it was amazing. My sister had literally got the best seats right at the bottom not at the front but about 5 rows from the front so we were not literally craning our necks to see the stars but had a great view of them (apart from having a big head sitting in front of me lol).

 

Wicked is the story prequel to the Wizard of Oz and tells the story of how the Wicked Witch of the West came to be and her demise in the story. It is a very clever story that tells you all those unanswered questions you have ever had of the Wizard of Oz. How the Wicked witch of the west Elpheba and Glinda the good witch hated each other from the beginning but then grew to like each other and became very good friends, it’s a very sweet story about friendship, good vs evil and how appearances can be deceiving. Elpeheba played by Emma Hatton was the most amazing singer I have ever seen, I really liked her as Elpheba but couldn’t compare her to other Elpheba’s. The whole cast was amazing really I could not fault any of them and I think that I along with all the other females in the crowd fell in love with Fiyero played by Oliver Savile such a handsome talented actor. I don’t want to go on too much and give it away to anybody who has not seen the show or read the book for that matter. But I must say it’s worth going to you will not be dissapointed, It is a show that is for children and adults and I can definitely say as someone who tends to just watch a show or film once this is something I would watch over and over again. I have fallen in love with the show and am desperate to watch it again.

I would give the musical a 10/10 the songs were so beautiful and the voices of the main characters Elpheba and Glinda (Emma Hatton and Savannah Stevenson) were out of this world. I honestly recommend this musical for anybody who loves musicals, this is the type of musical that anybody can watch regardless of gender and age. So on a final note I really have to thank my big sister for an amazing present 😀 x

 

PS I have never read the book so hoping to get it asap so I can compare as I love to compare films and musicals to the books x

Leave a Reply

